WHCC Athletic Department Celebrates Top Students & Programs

WHCC Athletic Department Celebrates Top Students & Programs

The West Hills College Coalinga athletic department hosted its first Academic & Athletic Achievement Awards on Friday evening, as a packed gymnasium of full of 250 student-athletes, coaches, administrators, faculty, staff and community supporters joined the dinner celebration to cap a successful 2016-2017 sports year for the Falcons.

Sixteen student-athletes were announced as top award-winners in several categories. They shared heartfelt speeches, featuring memories of victories and championships, but mostly of special bonds with their teammates, coaches and support staff – and overcoming adversity to reach their goals of earning A.A. degrees and transferring to four-year universities.

Awards were also presented to several coaches, supporters, and teams – including WHCC football (league champions) and women's rodeo (highest team GPA).

The event was co-presented by the Student-Athlete Advisory Council. Three of its members Scotty Ingle (president) from the baseball team, Abigayle Hampton (vice president) from the rodeo program, and Romario Saunders (men's sports representative) from the basketball team, joined Eric Mendoza, associate dean of athletics, as masters of ceremony.

"We are extremely proud of our award-winners, and there are many more that also deserve special recognition," Mendoza said.

"This is how we measure success in the West Hills College Coalinga athletic department – these are the victories that matter most. We are grateful for the event turnout, with the campus and community support. It's important that we all hear our student stories and the positive, life-changing impact our coaches and staff members have during their journeys in Coalinga."


West Hills College Coalinga Falcons

2016-2017 Academic & Athletic Achievement Awards

"Scholar-Athlete of the Year"

Alexandra Lovett, Softball

Audrey Maze, Rodeo

Rafael Rico, Football


"Falcon Award"

Kiesha Ramos, Softball

Troy Arce, Basketball


"Team of the Year"



"Most Inspirational Player"

Teonia Gonzales, Volleyball

Daviontee Robinson, Football


"Sophomore of the Year"

Cassidy Barnes, Rodeo

Justin Hayden, Football

Caden Lehman, Rodeo


"Rookie of the Year"

Abigayle Hampton, Rodeo

Darius Scott, Basketball


"Sportsmanship Award"

Sierra Allen, Volleyball/Softball

Scotty Ingle, Baseball


"Performance of the Year"

Chase Martinez, Softball

Alante Uribe, Baseball'


"Coaching Staff of the Year"

Softball, Head Coach Staci Mosher & Assistant Coach Gabi Brixey


"Special Recognition Award"

Community Supporters, John & Annie Clatt

WHCCD Chancellor, Dr. Frank Gornick


"Highest Team GPA"

Women's Rodeo (3.10, Fall 2016)


"President's Citation" (4.0 GPA)

"Dean's List" (3.0+ GPA)



Students were nominated by their respective coaches, and winners were selected by an awards committee.

More news and event photos coming soon.